What type of registrar is this?
Sunday, June 15th, 2008Some time ago Xavier Media acquired a few domain names at Snap Names (not a big deal at all). The domain names are still in our account at Snap Names and today I got 4 emails reminding me to verify the registration data. This is because Icann requires you to review your address information to make sure you have to correct data in the whois records.
The weird part in all this is the registrars mentioned in the emails from Snap Names. As you may know Snap Names have partnered with a few registrars to make it possible to snap names as soon as they drop and when I got xavier-media.com some time ago that name was registered via Snap Names at MELBOURNE IT, but the registrars for these four names are:
Mypreciousdomain.com LLC
Imminentdomains.net LLC
EUNamesOregon.com LLC
DomainsAreForever.net LLC
I got curious and looked them up in the whois databases (since they all got domain names in the company name) and these are the results:
Domain name: domainsareforever.net
Registrant Contact:
Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
Whois AgentPMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St - F1
C/O domainsareforever.net
Bellevue, WA 98007
USAdministrative Contact:
Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
Whois Agent ()
+1.4252740657
Fax: +1.4256960234
PMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St - F1
C/O domainsareforever.net
Bellevue, WA 98007
USTechnical Contact:
Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
Whois Agent ()
+1.4252740657
Fax: +1.4256960234
PMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St - F1
C/O domainsareforever.net
Bellevue, WA 98007
USStatus: Locked
Name Servers:
pdns1.oregonnames.com
pdns2.oregonnames.comCreation date: 12 Jan 2006 23:14:17
Expiration date: 12 Jan 2009 23:14:17
All four got name servers at oregonnames.com, are pointing to the same IP, are registered via Enom the same year (2006) and are using the same proxy whois
. I continued by looking up oregonnames.com:
Domain name: oregonnames.com
Administrative Contact:
Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
Whois Agent ()
+1.4252740657
Fax: +1.4256960234
PMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St - F1
C/O oregonnames.com
Bellevue, WA 98007
USTechnical Contact:
Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
Whois Agent ()
+1.4252740657
Fax: +1.4256960234
PMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St - F1
C/O oregonnames.com
Bellevue, WA 98007
USRegistrant Contact:
Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
Whois AgentPMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St - F1
C/O oregonnames.com
Bellevue, WA 98007
USStatus: Locked
Name Servers:
pdns1.oregonnames.com
pdns2.oregonnames.com
Since oregonnames.com also used proxy whois that was a complete dead end
.
All domain names got a web page promoting manage.snapnames.com selling .com domain names at $100 000.00 per name which makes me think that they don’t want any customers at all
.
The big question now is simply: what the heck is going on? Does anyone know anything usefull about these mystery registrars?
My guess is that they are connected somehow to the big failiure when .EU was introduced…… but that’s just my guess.
| 2.5 |







