New type of comment spam?
August 19th, 2008 by Andreas from Xavier MediaYesterday we got 3 comments posted in two of our blogs that looked strangely the same. All three comments came from the same IP address, and had the same name and email of poster. If I only had noticed one of these comments I would have approved it as it would have been just another comment, but since we got three almost the same comments:
Comment 1
There is more reason to comment than ever before! Great post! I searched for a while to find the right answer to my questions!
Comment 2
Thanks to the article, it make the life of a seo/link building easier and make the commenter come back again and again. I searched for a while to find the right answer to my questions!
Comment 3
There is more reason to comment than ever before! Great post! I searched for a while to find the right answer to my questions!
The disturbing part of all this is that they are all coming from the IP address 82.146.49.61 which resolves to wordpressmassinstaller.net. Unfortunately wordpressmassinstaller.net doesn't have any web site at all, but luckily wordpressmassinstaller.com do and that domain name is registered to the same person as the .net domain:
Frank Delarue
santa monica blvd
beverly hills, California 90212
United States
If you check out wordpressmassinstaller.com it looks like some kind of subscription based web site to manage several Wordpress blogs. The way this service is described at the site it sounds like spam blogs
Since the wordpressmassinstaller.com seems like some kind of bad SEO firm, we can unfortunately only asume that someone got a dedicated server to spam Wordpress blogs with comments that almost look real
Have you also got comments from 82.146.49.61 (wordpressmassinstaller.net)?

Weird blog spam
Less spam, at least for now
Internet way back in 2001 - part 4
Win 700 Entrecard credits once again
Help us fight spam!
Gravatars - Globally recognized avatars







August 21st, 2008 at 8:37 am
This is in fact very alarming. I would definately submit this to wordpress, akismet, and the other spam blocker services.
Big Ben Pattons last blog post..10 Absolute Must Know Tips For Internet Marketers
August 23rd, 2008 at 4:41 pm
I can now confirm that it's spam since I got about 20 of these kinds of comments yesterday.
/Andreas
August 27th, 2008 at 5:48 am
I just got one tonight. The flattery was what tipped me off.